India and Mauritius Signed a Memorandum of Understanding on Electoral Cooperation

India and Mauritius signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in New Delhi on cooperation in the field of Election Management and Administration. The MoU was signed by Chief  Election Commissioner of India, V.S. Sampath and the Electoral Commissioner of Mauritius, Mohammad Irfan Abdool Rahman.

Aims of MoU Signed

• Promotion of exchanges of knowledge and experience in electoral processes.
• Exchange of information, materials, expertise and training of personnel.
• Production and distribution of materials pertaining to electoral systems, voting technology, voters’ education as well as awareness and participation of women and minorities in electoral process.

The MoU is a great landmark that will help in strengthening and deepening of the mutual collaboration between the Election Commission of India and Electoral Commissioner’s Office of Mauritius.

Electoral Commissioner of Mauritius appreciated Indian Model Code of Conduct by Election Commission of India and acknowledged that Model Electoral Code of Mauritius drew inspirations with it.

So far, Election Commission of India has successfully signed seventeen MoUs with Election Monitoring bodies of different nations across the world. Latest MoUs signed by ECI are with UNDP, Venezuela, Republic of Korea and Egypt.
Next Post »