British mathematician Andrew Wiles wins 2016 Abel Prize

British mathematician Sir Andrew Wiles, a research professor at the University of Oxford has won the prestigious Abel prize 2016 for his contributions to mathematical sciences.
He was selected by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters for solving the 300-year-old mystery surrounding Fermet’s Last Theorem which was formulated by French mathematician Pierre de Fermat in 1637.
He will receive the prize worth £500,000 (Rs 4.7 crore) from Crown Prince Haakon of Norway at a ceremony in Oslo

About Andrew Wiles
He was born on 11 April 1953 in Cambridge, England.

He is a Royal Society Research Professor at the University of Oxford (1988 to 1990) and specialises in number theory.In 2011, he again had rejoined Oxford as Royal Society Research Professor.

He had earned his bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1974 at Merton College, Oxford and a PhD at Clare College, Cambridge in 1980.

About Abel Prize
Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize awarded annually to one or more outstanding mathematicians. It is described as the mathematician’s Nobel Prize.

The award was established by the Government of Norway in 2001. It has been named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel.

It carries monetary award of 6 million Norwegian kroner (NOK) (around 600,000 Euros).
Next Post »